The Verkhovna Rada finally renamed Artemovsk, Dzerzhinsk, Krasny Liman and Ilyichevsk 02/04/2016 13:46:05. Total views 1193. Views today — 0.

The Verkhovna Rada adopted a draft regulation №3854 on renaming the four cities and more than 160 villages and towns within decommunisation on Thursday. The regulation was supported by 230 deputies, - reports Levyi Bereg.

In particular, Artemovsk became Bakhmut, Dzerzhinsk - Toretsk, Krasny Liman - Liman, Ilyichevsk - Chernomorsk.

Artemovsk district was renamed into Bakhmut district.

The law on decommunisation in Ukraine provides the change of the names of all cities, streets, and other units which names are associated with the Soviet Union.