Verkhovna Rada imposes martial law in border regions of Ukraine for 30 days 11/27/2018 11:42:20. Total views 986. Views today — 0.

Verkhovna Rada imposed martial law in the border regions of Ukraine for 30 days.

The decision was backed by 276 people's deputies.

President Poroshenko spoke out in the Verkhovna Rada before the voting with a proposal to impose the martial law in a number of regions of Ukraine, which border the Russian Federation and Moldovan Transnistria.

At the same time, the President stressed that the rights and freedoms of citizens during the period of martial law would not be violated.

As a result, the deputies supported the proposal of Poroshenko.

Vinnytsia, Luhansk, Donetsk, Zaporizhia, Mykolaiv, Odessa, Sumy, Kharkiv, Chernihiv and Kherson oblasts, as well as internal waters of the Azov-Kerch water area, were included in the list of regions where the martial law was introduced for 30 days.